Internship Reflections

Reflecting on my time working with the Center for Women’s Global Leadership (CWGL) brings a big smile to my face. The internship has been a truly eye-opening experience in so many ways. Women’s rights have always interested me and on a personal level, the placement has afforded me the opportunity to gain real insight into a world I hadn’t previously been exposed to. 

The internship with the Center has given me the best chance to really get to know the issues and to understand the hugely important work women’s rights defenders. The demands of working with such a fantastic group of highly intelligent, empowering and inspiring, successful women have been hugely important for my professional development, as has the chance to be involved with the various different aspects to CWGL’s work.

When all around it seems there are only more things to be angry about in the world, it is so encouraging to be part of a committed group of individuals. The most amazing thing about CWGL is how such a small group of dedicated people can achieve so much. The size means all the team members work closely together and have input on all projects. I can’t thank the entire team enough for making my time so memorable and for supporting me throughout my American adventure! I feel I have made real friendships here and I hope to stay in touch with the whole CWGL Team in the future.

by Emily Westcott, Fall 2012 and Spring 2013 Economic and Social Rights intern, Center for Women’s Global Leadership, Rutgers University 

Leave a comment